History of the Bulgarian Parliament

The Constituent Assembly in Veliko Turnovo (10 February 1879 – 16 April 1879) marked the beginning of parliamentarism in Bulgaria. Its 229 members drafted and adopted the Turnovo Constitution on 16 April 1879. The Principality of Bulgaria was defined as “a hereditary and constitutional monarchy with popular representation”. The Assembly adopted the principle of separation of powers into the executive, legislative, and judiciary branches. The Constitution protected civil freedoms, the inviolability of the right to ownership, individual freedoms, the principle of equality before the law, the right to associate, the abolition of class-related rights and slavery, etc

The Seventh Grand National Assembly voted the current Constitution of the Republic of Bulgaria on 12 July 1991. It states that Bulgaria is a parliamentary republic and a democratic and social state abiding by the rule of law. The constitution enshrines the principle of the separation of powers, postulates the rights and freedoms of citizens, and declares its supremacy over other legal acts. The National Assembly is elected for a four-year term and consists of 240 Members of Parliament. It exercises the legislative power and parliamentary oversight. Unlike the preceding fundamental laws, the July 1991 Constitution states that the National Assembly is a standing body. Its sittings are open to the public and the laws and decisions it adopts are binding for all state bodies, organisations and citizens of the Republic of Bulgaria.

This site uses cookies. By accepting cookies you can optimise your browsing experience.

Accept Refuse More